COURSEWORK: PROJECT 2 A DURATIONAL SPACE

Exercise 3.2

Using slow shutter speeds, the multiple exposure function, or another technique inspired by the research, try to record the trace of movement within the frame. You can be as experimental as you like. Add a selection of shots together with relevant shooting data and a description of your process to your learning log.

I fancied trying to emulate the long exposures of Michael Wesely but need to capture subjects moving quickly to do so instead of using his technique of exposing over several years. It was a really windy day so I went into the garden to capture plants moving in the wind with long exposures. I set the camera to bulb and used exposures of over 1024 seconds, I tried to time them initially but this proved unsuccessful so I attempted to get the longest exposures as I could by using a small aperture. These were handheld to add to the movement. These two I find quite aesthetically effective.

_MG_9694     _MG_9702.JPG1/1240; f/22; ISO 100; 87mm                             1/1240; f/22; ISO 100; 66mm

With these daffodils I hoped to emulate in a short space of time Michael’s “The life and death of a bouquet of flowers” but in a rooted aspect!_MG_9745.JPG1/1240; f/22; ISO 100; 66mm

Next in a coastal location, I then slowed the shutter on bulb setting further by using an ND 8 stop Filter. Although I used a tripod, it was freezing, my fingers were numb and for some unexplained reason my remote shutter release wouldn’t fire and I therefore may have added some movement to the exposure with my finger on the shutter.  With the sun rising behind me the slow exposure made the image far too dark however I really like the effect and intend using this technique in the future when shooting water in motion. I like the ghostly water set against a backdrop of a dark eerie background.

_MG_06401/1.6; f/40; ISO 100; 200mm

Next I moved indoors with a tripod to capture the movement of a flickering flame; I did add to the natural movement by blowing the flame during the exposure. The remote release worked this time so the only movement was the flame. I don’t find these very effective, probably as only 1 point in the image is showing movement, I feel that they lack rhythm.

_MG_9854        _MG_9855

1/1240; f/5.6; ISO 100; 83mm             1/1240; f/5.6; ISO 100; 83mm

Finally I attempted to shoot some seascapes in the style of Hiroshi Sugimoto.The longer exposure of the first image I find quite effective.

_MG_0709    _MG_9381

1/+1024; f/40; ISO 400; 300mm             1/100; f/13; ISO 400; 300mm

These exercises have certainly expanded my toolkit with additional ways to use long exposures for creative effect, some of which I will pursue later.

Leave a Reply

