THE DECISIVE MOMENT

Niki South Student number: 514516

REFLECTIONS ON FORMATIVE FEEDBACK

My Tutors feedback has given me much encouragement.

Strengths highlighted:

  • Scouting, planning and patience whilst shooting.
  • Editing from lots of images post shooting, as well as reviewing and reshooting whilst on location- This I was especially pleased about because I felt after my last assignment that this was an area that I needed to develop, and had lost confidence in; this time I had more of a “feel for it”, I was instinctive about which were the images to choose.
  • Forming a cohesive project – I struggled with this more the previous assignment, I believe I overthought it at first; however this time I found that the idea for the series for emerged almost by itself as I was editing, and I went with the flow.
  • The use of humour – This was a relief as was nervous about how that would be perceived.
  • My visual and conceptual viewpoints.
  • Creativity – I was particularly pleased about the positive comments about this as I had set out on the streets to “find my difference “and thought that one had emerged. This happened in part as I took my tutors advice from the previous assignment on not over planning, and being flexible whilst working through the assignment.
  • My self-reflection.

Areas for development:

  • Study the images to see whether they need any post processing (a couple would benefit from lifting the shadows).
  • Consider slower shutter speeds if needing to increase depth of field (for the future).
  • Trying a “pop of flash” when shooting on the streets (for the future).

My own Learning points:

  • To trust my instinct, remain flexible throughout an assignment and have more confidence in my photography.
  • That recognising the decisive moment, and acting instantaneously is essential to successful photography.
  • To move to using manual settings as a default.

Link to work submitted to tutor: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/a3-work-submitted-to-tutor/

Link to learning log:The Decisive Moment: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/a3-learning-log/

However these mind maps summarise the narrative of my preparations, post-shooting thoughts and editing notes contained in the learning log.

Preparations notes:

planning mind map

 Post shooting notes:

Post shoot mind map

 Editing notes:

Editing mind map

Leave a Reply

