ASSIGNMENT 5: PHOTOGRAPHY IS SIMPLE

Niki South    Student number: 514516

REFLECTIONS ON FORMATIVE FEEDBACK

My Tutor’s feedback has gave me encouragement, confidence and further food for thought.

Strengths highlighted:

  • Organisation, research (critical awareness and use of value judgements) and presentation of this through mind maps.
  • My plan to present as a “slow reveal” as a devise to construct my narrative around. I did reorder the images after taking out my weakest one and following used my tutor’s suggestion of scale to present the images to “tighten up” my slow reveal presentation.
  • Awareness of viewer and how to engage them.
  • My passion and knowledge of the subject. I am glad that this came across even though it was not one of my favorite assignments in this course.
  • Demonstration of technical and visual skills – I was especially pleased with this as I knew it was a technically subject and could have shied away from it but took up the challenge and risk, and felt that I learnt a lot from it. I also know that I couldn’t have tackled this at the beginning of the course.
  • Compositional skills which sustain interest and create intimacy with the subject.
  • Creative use of “scale, proximity and dynamic compositions”. I can see the progression here in particular since my 1st assignment.

 Areas for development:

  • Critical editing: My Tutor suggested I that swap 2 images for others almost identical to them, and on reflection he was absolutely right I had not originally chosen the best of them; I need to look really critically at similar images. Although he praised my “quirky” idea to include a static version of the boat to show it in its entirety, on reflection I agree with him that my original porta cabin image was “flat” in comparison the other images, and decided to drop it from the final submission. I learnt from this not to hold on to what might seem a clever idea if the image isn’t strong enough.
  • To continue to read and research widely.

My Learning points:

  • As with my previous assignment to continue to trust my instinct and remain flexible throughout an assignment. I am glad that I had the confidence to change my subject when a unique opportunity arose and to proceed with this.
  • To look critically at images chosen in series or exhibition to learn more about the rationale behind how other photographers make their choices.
  • To read along the lines of my tutors suggestion (Dialogue with Photography, Hill & Thomas 2014) to discover more about what goes on in photographer’s minds.

 Link to work submitted to tutor: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/a5-work-submitted-to-tutor/

Link to learning log: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/a5-learning-log/

These mind maps summarise the narrative of my preparations, post-shooting thoughts and editing notes contained in the learning log:

Preparations

mind map planning

 Shooting

mindmap shooting

 Editing

mind map editing

Analysis grid of the information contained in images

analysis grid final

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

