ASSIGNMENT 5: PHOTOGRAPHY IS SIMPLE

FINAL NOTES AND ANALYSIS

Niki South Student number: 514516

BRIEF

Take a series of 10 photographs of any subject of your own choosing. Each photograph must be a unique view of the same subject; in other words, it must contain some ‘new information’ rather than repeat the information of the previous image. Pay attention to the order of the series; if you’re submitting prints, number them on the back. There should be a clear sense of development through the sequence.  

Assignment notes: In your assignment notes explore why you chose this particular subject by answering the question ‘What is it about?’ Write about 300 words. Your response to the question doesn’t have to be complicated; it might be quite simple (but if you can answer in one word then you will have to imaginatively interpret your photographs for the remaining 299!)

For this assignment it is important that you send a link (or scanned pages) to the contextual exercise (Exercise 5.2) for your tutor to comment on within their report.

WHAT IS MY SUBJECT ABOUT?

The Jolie Brise:  Was built in 1913 in Le Havre and is one of the world’s most famous tall ships. She was a pilot boat (the last to carry royal mail under sail), has won the Fastnet race three times and the Tall ships race in 2015; she is steeped in history and breathtakingly beautiful. Now owned by Dauntsey’s school sailing club, this is how I have been lucky enough to sail on her twice.

I chose The Jolie Brise for my subject as sailing is one of my passions, and I hugely admire The boat’s craftsmanship, beauty, and amazing history. A personal connection (my daughter has sailed her) and the opportunity she has given many other youngsters to develop a love of sailing and adventure, strengthens my attraction to her.

As I set out in my learning log, she was an opportunist subject for me, not the one I had originally planned. Invited to sail on her at short notice, I had my camera with me, but didn’t expect to use it much. I shot at first for my pleasure and then realised I could use her as the subject for my assignment. I liked the challenge that this presented me: quickly translating my planning for another subject, thinking on the spot, dealing with difficult shooting conditions (constant movement, bright sunlight, working in a tight space around crew and equipment). I had only a few hours left to observe, think creatively and photograph. I had planned to present my original series as a “slow reveal”, and shot to that brief. All the images were opportunist, not staged. I felt confident and comfortable with her as my subject and enjoyed shooting the images, which I hope have captured viewpoint, moment, enjoyment and subject. Yes photography can be simple if you have an affinity with your subject!

Link to contextual exercise 5.3: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/exercise-5-2/

Link to learning log: https://nkssite.wordpress.com/category/a5-learning-log/

Leave a Reply

